Day 23 – 11.04.13

Well, I think I might officially be a kayaking addict now. This morning I had another coughing fit (can’t seem to get rid of this cough!) while turning around. Intense pain in my side! Did I displace a rib? Should I go to the chiropractor? Urgent Care?  I could barely walk and owwwwweeeee, it hurt! On the other hand, the sun WAS shining. Seemed like it might be a better idea to hobble down to the car and drive to the harbor. Surely kayaking is the best idea – right?  Maybe paddling will help work it out/make it feel better. Certainly being out on the water on such a beautiful day distracted me from how much I hurt. I was extra fortunate to have a bit of the incoming tide to carry me in (to the Slough) and another huge dropping tide to help carry me home (once the pull got strong enough to out pull the pushing wind/breeze).

Saw this guy with that 55 gallon drum (from yesterday) on his kayak! His kayak is a different style than mine – he had a little more room for it up front. Silly me, didn’t get his picture. Duh…

The dead sea lion (from yesterday) was still in the water today. I contacted the Moss Landing Marine Lab when I got home. Apparently there is a network that reports data about “stranded” (dead) marine mammals to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). If the animal is freshly dead, they may do a necropsy on it. If not, I’m not sure what they do other than gathering data. The two people who I e-mail corresponded with over there (Jackie Lindsey and Suzanne) were very helpful. I look forward to going to their open house in April. There’s still so much to learn about all the groups and what they deal with and specialize in, down here in the Elkhorn/Moss Landing area. I love a good puzzle.

Both the sea otter raft and the sea lions on the dock were present today (yahoo).

DSC01065 DSC01068 DSC01070 DSC01109 DSC01106

The water was high (really high tide – lots of shallow “lakes” where there is usually land) and flat – perfect for how I was feeling.

DSC01071 DSC01088 DSC01099

Lots of fun harbor seal art.

DSC01078 DSC01079 DSC01081

Various birds on the little bits of remaining “land”

DSC01074 DSC01077 DSC01091 DSC01101 DSC01105

Did I mention otters, grebes, and ducks?

DSC01098 DSC01085 DSC01083

I love being on the Slough!

P.S. looking for related articles – high tides in Miami and the UK…we are all one world, apparently.

Leave a comment